Category: Drama

Kristen Bell and Anna Chlumsky have a new murder mystery podcast called “Deadly Manners,” and here’s your first listen

We’ve got the BEST news for fans of Kristen Bell, Anna Chlumsky, and murder. Well, not fans of murder — but, like, people who like murder. Not like like but — you know what we’re trying to say, okay? And what we’re trying to say is this: The amazing Kristen Bell and Anna Chlumsky star in Deadly Manners, a new […]

220px-War_of_the_Worlds_original_cover_bw0

The War of the Worlds

        This Week’s Winner is H.G. Wells Classic The War of the Worlds performed by Orson Welles and the Mercury Theater on the air.  This show was originally aired on Halloween night, 1938 and boy...

The Whistler0

The Whistler is the Winner

        A character known only as the Whistler has been the host and narrator of the stories, which focused on crime and destiny. He commented directly taunting the personalities, innocent or guilty. The stories followed...

Box 130

Box 13 is this Week’s Winner

        Dan Holiday was an author who wrote mystery novels. To get ideas for his novels he placed advertisements in a newspaper saying “Adventure wanted, will go anywhere, do anything, Box 13.” The ads always...

The Couple Next Door0

The Couple Next Door

        The Couple Next Door was a similar Peg Lynch radio series which aired on CBS Radio during the waning days of network radio, (December 30, 1957 – November 25, 1960) with Peg Lynch and...

The Story of DR Kildare0

The Story of Doctor Kildare

        In the summer of 1949, MGM reunited Lew Ayres and Lionel Barrymore to record the radio series, The Story of Dr. Kildare, which used the concept and characters of the earlier Young Dr. Kildare...

0

Lance Dann: behind the scenes of the Blood Culture podcast

Compelling podcasts with a life beyond the audio as website content, films, post-show discussions with scientists, twitter feeds and an SMS text game On 20th April 2017, the audio and digital media drama series Blood Culture went live for the first time. It is a bio-medical thriller series, which explores people’s anxieties of the marketisation […]

Counter Spy0

David Harding’s Counter Spy

Counterspy was an espionage drama radio series starring David Harding as Don MacLaughlin and aired on the NBC Blue Network (later the ABC) and Mutual from May 18, 1942 to November 29, 1957. Don...

Betty and Bob0

Betty and Bob is this Week’s 4 Pack Winner

Betty and Bob was one of the earliest examples of the radio soap opera. The soap opera followed the lives of Betty and Bob Drake. Betty was a secretary who falls madly in love with her boss, bachelor Bob Drake. The two wed and each day, the subject matter dealt with everything from love to hate, […]

The Hardy Family0

The Hardy Family

The Hardy Family Old Time Radio show tells the story of Andy Hardy, high school graduate turned business man. Andy is played by Mickey Rooney. There were also multiple Hardy Family movies and one...